Thursday, February 5, 2009

Nominations for President Pro Tempore

Following Senator Hinton Mitchem's resignation as President Pro Tempore of the Alabama Senate, nominations began for his successor.

Senator Lowell Barron (D) of Fyffe and Senator Rodger Bedford (D) of Russellville, came to the microphone to nominate Senator Rodger Smitherman (D) of Birmingham.

Senator Steve French (R) of Birmingham and Senator Hank Erwin (R) of Calera stood to nominate Senator Jabo Waggoner (R) of Vestavia Hills.

Both nominees were praised as strong leaders in the Alabama Senate and as people who can take Alabama into the future without looking back.

No comments:

Post a Comment